











July 16, 2013

Dear County, Township and City Official:

In a letter dated June 19, 2013, we indicated that we would be putting together meetings to discuss the 2013 legislation regarding silica sand mining and processing in Minnesota. The purpose of the meetings is to explain the legislation and solicit input on the technical assistance needs of local units of government. The meeting details are as follows.

Objectives

- Provide an overview of the 2013 legislation passed to address silica sand mining and processing
- Provide updates on the status of specific tasks assigned to state agencies
- Gather your feedback regarding technical assistance and implementation needs

Two meetings will be held on **Friday**, **August 2**, **2013**. The format of the meetings will be identical and you are invited to attend the one that is most convenient.

- **Red Wing,** 9:00–11:00 a.m., St. James Hotel, Portside Meeting Room, 406 Main Street
- Winona, 1:30–3:30 p.m., Winona State University, Tau Center Rotunda, 511 Hilbert Street

Agenda

•		
•	Welcome and introduction	Dave Frederickson, Environmental Quality Board Chair
•	Pollution Control Agency update	John Stine, Commissioner
•	Department of Natural Resources update	Tom Landwehr, Commissioner
•	Department of Health update	Jim Kelly, Environmental Health Manager
•	Department of Transportation update	Charles Zelle, Commissioner
•	Technical assistance needs discussion	Agencies and local government representatives

We hope you will join us. Please extend this invitation to other elected officials and appropriate staff within your local government unit. Contact Nancy Miller via email at nancy.miller@state.mn.us; or by phone at 507-206-2612 to let us know who will be representing your organization and at which location.

We look forward to meeting with you and gathering your feedback on assistance and implementation strategies.

Educat ! Ele

Sincerely,

Dave Frederickson

EQB Chair and

MDA Commissioner

Edward P. Ehlinger, MD, MSPH

MDH Commissioner

John Linc Stine

MPCA Commissioner

Charles Zelle

MnDOT Commissioner

Tom Landwehr DNR Commissioner

Recipient Distribution List

Townships	Florence
•	Hay Creek
	Kasota
	Lime
	Louisville
	Ottawa
	Pilot Mound
	Sand Creek
	Saratoga
	Yucatan
Cities	Cannon Falls
Cities	Chisago City
	Harris
	Houston
	Le Sueur
	Lewiston
	Mankato
	Minnesota City
	North Branch
	North Mankato
	Red Wing
	Rushford
	Rushford Village
	St. Charles
	St. Charles St. Peter
	Utica
	Wabasha
	Winona
G	Woodbury
Counties	Blue Earth
	Chisago
	Dakota
	Fillmore
	Goodhue
	Houston
	Le Sueur
	Nicollet
	Olmsted
	Ramsey
	Rice
	Scott
	Wabasha
	Washington
	Winona